Chateau 24(c) Label Sign-up at SWIM, March 13, 2020, French Lick

In 2018 Chateau SW® herbicide received a 24(c) special local needs label for cucurbits in Indiana. The product is produced by Valent, but the label is held by the Indiana Vegetable Growers Association.  IVGA members may obtain a copy of the label by paying an annual fee of $100, reading and understanding the ‘conditions for use,’ signing appropriate forms, and getting the forms notarized. One cannot use Chateau SW® without completing the forms and obtaining a label. This process must be repeated every year. IVGA President John Young will be at the Southwest Indiana Melon and Vegetable Growers Meeting in French Lick on March 13, 2020, to accept fees and provide forms. Contact John at 317-752-0559 for more information.

IVGA Elections

Officer elections at the IVGA Annual Meeting on Feb. 11, 2020 brought in a new Vice-President: Mike Roney of Tuttle Orchards in Indianapolis. Congratulations, Mike!

Many thanks to out-going Vice-President William Harriman for your years of service to IVGA as VP, and prior to that, on the Board of Directors.

President John Young and Secretary-Treasurer Mike Horrall remain in office. John and Mike, thanks for all you do for IVGA!

Board members Brian Garwood, Ken McCammon, Jim Paarlberg, and Mike Vargo were re-elected to terms ending in 2023. Thanks for your continued service!

Mike Roney’s election to VP left an opening on the Board of Directors. Ed Burek of Burek Farms in LaPorte was elected to fill that position, with a term ending in 2021. Welcome to the Board, Ed!

2020 Membership Renewal and Annual Meeting

It’s time to renew or sign-up for 2020! The dues rate for regular members is $20. The corporate membership rate remains at $80/year. Download the membership form here.

All vegetable and melon growers are welcome to attend the annual membership meeting of the IVGA, Feb. 11, 2020, 11:00 AM-Noon, at the Indianapolis Marriott East. This is right at the start of the Indiana Horticultural Conference and Trade Show.

The IVGA was established to be the Voice for Vegetable Growers in Indiana and is dedicated to the improvement of vegetable production and marketing in Indiana. The IVGA supports education and research about vegetables and melons in Indiana, and as your advocate, the IVGA is your resource to help find solutions for your every day problems.

Join today and be a part of a great team in Indiana!

Recent activities on behalf of Growers in Indiana:

  • Special local needs label (24c) for use of herbicide Chateau in melons

Gifts to support research/education projects:

IVGA Supports Projects on Financial Management and Irrigation

IVGA is proud to provide small grants to support work by two Purdue faculty members. Dr. Wenjing Guan will use funds in a project to develop information and resources on precision irrigation management in field and high tunnel production. Dr. Ariana Torres will use funds to collect foundational data on costs and revenues for vegetable production and develop an online financial calculator for vegetable operations. The information and resources developed from these project should prove especially useful to new and beginning vegetable farmers. Thanks to Drs. Guan and Torres for all their work to improve vegetable production and marketing in Indiana!

Directories, Renewal Time, and Annual Membership Meeting

The directory of IVGA members who sell wholesale produce has been updated and is available at under the Wholesale Growers link. This directory and the complete membership directory for 2017 have been mailed to 2017 members.

It’s time to renew or sign-up for 2018! The new dues rate for regular members is $20. If you wish to order a hard copy of the Midwest Vegetable Production Guide or Vegetable Crops Hotline newsletter, you can indicate that on the membership form, but they are no longer included in the price of membership. The corporate membership rate remains at $80/year.

The annual membership meeting of the Indiana Vegetable Growers Association will be held Wednesday, Feb. 14, 2018, at 3:30 – 4:30 p.m., at the Indianapolis Marriott East. IVGA still has openings for new board members. Contact President John Young if you are interested or wish to nominate someone. Elections for board members and officers will be held at the meeting.

Earlier on Feb. 14, as well as on Feb. 13 and Feb. 15, educational programs and the trade show at the Indiana Horticulture Congress offer lots of opportunity for learning and networking. Learn more at Hope to see many IVGA members there!

Indiana Vegetable Growers Seeks Board Members

The Indiana Vegetable Growers Association board is seeking board members for 3-year terms beginning at the annual meeting in February 2018. Members interested in serving, or with suggestions for potential board members, should contact President John Young at or 5028 E. Landersdale Rd. Mooresville, IN 46158.

IVGA Supports Purdue Project to Collect Farmers Market Prices

The Indiana Vegetable Growers Association has awarded Dr. Ariana Torres of Purdue $1,000 for the project ‘Supporting the Vegetable Industry Success: Marketing Tools for Farm Decision-Making.’ Dr. Torres will collect prices and product availability at selected farmers markets in Indiana and generate weekly reports that will be available at the Purdue Horticulture Business Extension program website:

Reports of Funded Projects Now Available

Reports of projects supported in 2015 have been received and are available online here. The work of A.J. Deering and M.C. Aime showed that red yeast could reduce or inhibit growth of Salmonella or E. coli on lettuce leaves and the yeast may have potential as a biocontrol agent. J. Monroe completed the two-day training required to become an approved trainer for the FSMA produce safety curriculum and plans to become fully certified as a lead trainer when the certification process is finalized. (2/13/2016)

Annual Election of Board Members and Officers

On January 20, 2016 at the annual membership meeting, officers and board members were elected. John Young was elected President, James Book re-elected as Vice-president, and Michael Horrall re-elected as Secretary/Treasurer. Board members Tom Kercher, Vernon Stuckwish, and Curt Utterback were re-elected and new board member William Harriman was elected to serve through the annual meeting in 2019. Outgoing President John Hilger was elected to fill John Young’s position on the board. (2/13/2016)